• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

I6 and 3000rpm cruise, any one live this life?

Mike H.

NAXJA Forum User
situation... XJ, I6, ax-15, 4.56's and 31's...
Doing gears next week, and, had convinced myself that 4.56's were the way to go.
Had some folks question it, and ever since I've not been so confident.

What are folks opinions on 3000rpm cruise at 70mph with the I6.

I have an auto but it runs around 2900 at 75. Works great for me!

Much better than the lugging and hunting it did before.

Glen

Well, for me, 70mph is about 2600 with 4.56's and 35's, aw-4, and the jeep has no problems holdig 3k (which is about 80 or so for me). I say go for it, but I'm no expert, although I don't know if i'd reccomend 4.56's for 31's unless its just an around town, see no highway, trail mostly sorta jeep.

All day long, 1,000 miles at a time to Moab, JV etc. Even on the new stroker.

On straight road, I can cruise at 3100+ in the newish stroker. At a more modest 2800, I get 18 MPG, loaded, on flat ground.

Mike H. said:
situation... XJ, I6, ax-15, 4.56's and 31's...
Doing gears next week, and, had convinced myself that 4.56's were the way to go.
Had some folks question it, and ever since I've not been so confident.

What are folks opinions on 3000rpm cruise at 70mph with the I6.

well thats probably too much gear for 31's. but you can always adjust the size of your tires to match the ratio. seems to me 3k rpm is high for the 4.0, as far as wear and tear, plus it is hard on gas mileage. 33's should be a good choice for 4.56, kind of depends on what brand of tire you get. which reminds me, why the hell can't tire companies just make the tires to be the advertised size? good thing they don't make bolts...

flexjay87 said: