• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

leaf slider

tdr1213

NAXJA Forum User
Leaf spring slider

Anyone ever experimented with a leaf spring slider............replacing the shackle.

Pros? Cons?

Re: Leaf spring slider

not sure about a leaf spring slider but have you looked under the new grandcherokees the have a built in slider for the rear of the body

I dont think he's talking about a skid. It's kind of a track that replaces the shackle. It mounts the rear eye of the leaf spring, and lets it slide fore n aft, rather than swing from the shackle.

My personal opinion is that most of the gimicky things like this are better in theory than in practice... But I have no experience with the sliders whatsoever...

Robert

This surprises me. Leaf sliders are very popular in racing, much better for the leaf (maintains consistent spring rate). Instead of a shackle arcing during compression and unloading, the spring end slides back and forth in a slot on a bearing to accommodate for compression and extension.

I know most people use the shackle to increase lift............but I'm looking for performance and think a slider would great. What do you think?

scottmcneal said:
would this be a wink link when rock crawling?

not at all. The first one I saw was on a totally tubed out custom rock crawler. This rig is bad on bad and climbs like a billy goat. That's why I'm asking the question here.

Robert 771 said:
I dont think he's talking about a skid. It's kind of a track that replaces the shackle. It mounts the rear eye of the leaf spring, and lets it slide fore n aft, rather than swing from the shackle.

My personal opinion is that most of the gimicky things like this are better in theory than in practice... But I have no experience with the sliders whatsoever...

Robert