• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Confused on flat towing an XJ...

ACME

NAXJA Forum User
Yes I'm a newbie and expect the hazing process... I've looked at every thread RE flat towing and am more confused than ever! We're planning to buy a Jeep to tow behind the RV 2-3 times a year, we plan to flat tow, no dollie or trailer... We've narrowed our choice to a YJ with a manual and a lift that the wife likes or a 91 Cherokee Laredo with ft/rr lockers and a automatic with a lift (my choice). I've flat towed VW's and have the hitch, light thing down as I know that will come up... The owner of the XJ does not have the manual available (I asked), does anyone have experience flat towing this year XJ or a similar vehicle and can it be done w/o pulling a driveshaft etc? I've read a ton of posts on here and 3-4 other sites and no-one seems to have a clear answer... Thanks!

Best way to do it is to pull the DS, front and rear.

However, I believe that you can flat-tow an XJ with the transfer case (and transmission) in neutral. That should unlock the drive train from the wheels....

The YJ should be the same. T-Case in Neutral...but I'm not sure how you would lock a manual tranny into Neutral.

Does it have an np231 or np242 (full time four wheel drive)?

With the 231 (no full time option), you are going to have to pull a shaft.

Flat towing an auto XJ, you want the transmission in P and the transfercase in N. Early np231's locked the front and rear driveshaft together when in N, which will cause binding when you flat tow. Somewhere around 1995 they changed the transfercase to have a true neutral, it seems to be a gray area when it exactly happened.

If it has a 242 (full time four wheel drive), N should work fine.