• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Budget Boost questions

Brad Klammer

NAXJA Forum User
Ok, I've searched a lot and probably read every single BB thread on this board but still have unanswered questions.

I just bought a 98 Classic and it's riding stock right now. I'm looking to boost and get new rubber in the next couple of weeks. I'm still tossing up between 30's and 31's?
I do a little bit of off roading, but mostly just basic forest service roads and getting myself into good fishing locations. I don't do any mudding or crawling really, but sometimes do some semi-challenging trails.

I've been reading all the reviews on BB's and other lifts but still can't really decide which one to go with. This is also the first lifted truck I will have so I have no experience with the matter.

I've got a rear hitch and put on tow hooks on the front, so I've got the extraction angles covered, and I'm ordering rails and underbody protection.

These are all the mods I want to do for now, and I want to install a lift that require little to no modifaction to other areas of the Jeep (trasfer case lowering, longer brake lines, SYE), I'm not sure this is even realistic.

Anyways, I'm trying to decide which BB to do and why? I've been eyeing the RE, and I was also looking at the OME, but I'm not sure I want to spend 8 bills. From what I've read, stay away from rocky road.... so then there's BDS, which not many people talk about. How do BDS and RE compare and why does the BDS cost over a hundered dollars more? Also, can anyone explain to me what the hybrid of RE and OME consists of and what kind of price I'd be looking at? I'm most likely going to order everything from DPG, just waiting for them to open up on Monday!