• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

LookyLooky: D44 came in. Have some ?'s about welding it on

selarep

NAXJA Forum User
2007_0612Image0003.JPG

2007_0612Image0004.JPG

Dana 44 from a '94 Rodeo with 4.10 gearing complete

I called my local 4wd shop and they quoted me between $150-$180 to have it complete and ready to bolt in with new spring perches and shock mounts, is that a good price?

I have access to a welder but I'm not that good at weling big items like this.

if so, the total cost of this project would be about $500...

If you're not comfortable with doing it yourself, and that price includes spring pads and shock mounts, I don't think thats a bad deal... Make sure you get the pinion angle set where you want it. Also, Spring pads at XJ width are TIGHT to the caliper brackets. I just managed to squeeze mine on, but IIRC53guy on this board did a pretty slick job using TnT "u-bolt eliminators" -- you might want to search for some pics of that...

xj-grin said:
If you're not comfortable with doing it yourself, and that price includes spring pads and shock mounts, I don't think thats a bad deal... Make sure you get the pinion angle set where you want it. Also, Spring pads at XJ width are TIGHT to the caliper brackets. I just managed to squeeze mine on, but IIRC53guy on this board did a pretty slick job using TnT "u-bolt eliminators" -- you might want to search for some pics of that...

do you have any pics of your set up?