• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

New, first project XJ, where to start

bl87xj

NAXJA Forum User
1988, 4.0 Auto. Just picked it up for $700. Made the 60+ mile drive home no issues. Doesn't seem to have any issues that any other 19 year old car might have. So here is my plan (in order) to start improving my reliability confidence. The car is going to be used for a daily school/beach runner for my kid.

I am not a mechanic, so any input on the following items is very helpful.

#1: Cooling system.
It ran very consistent to the left of the 210 mark on the freeway, and didn't climb much in traffic. There is a crack in the surge tank that hisses. I don't want to do any conversions or upgrades until I know better what suits me. My plan is to take it to the local lube/tune place that has treated me pretty good in the past and have them do a flush, pressure check, replace the surge tank with a stock plastic one and fill the system.

#2: Power steering:
There is a bit of a whine in the steering as the car warms up. The fluid is a bit low and there seems to be leaking from the pump. I am thinking the lube/tune place can handle this, check for leaks and possibly change out the pump. Do you flush and refill power steering systems?

#3: Clean up/degrease:
The XJ has been sitting in my driveway for 24 hrs. Not a drop on the driveway. But there is some grime and build up, signs of past leaks and/or seepage. I would like to clean it all up so that I can keep an eye on things and identify any problems. What is the best way to clean an engine/drive line of built up grease and grime?

#4: Flush and fill fluids:
Just for a fresh start. I figure the lube and tune can also handle this: Cooling in #1, Power steering in #2, Oil, Transmission, Transfer case, Diffs.