• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Oil leak

Ackattack

NAXJA Forum User
OK, I got this MJ and the darn thing leaks oil pretty bad. I have changed to rear main seal and oil pan gasket 3 times to no avail (1 piece oil pan gasket).

the last time I did it, I started it up and watched it. After a little while it starts dripping from the back of the motor. Obviously with everything put together I can't tell where its coming from, but it drips from the back edge of the oil pan. So I don't know if its the oil pan, the rear main seal, or somewhere else.

I'm a pretty good mechanic and I've done a lot more things than a stupid rear main seal and oil pan, but this is kicking my butt. Could it be a leaky oil gally plug or something else above the rear main seal that is leaking? I just can't believe that after doing this job 3 times that I didn't get this part right. I read the "how to" on here using oil to lubricate the seal as I put it in. I also used soap on the outside of it as described in the Haynes manual I have at home. I used felpro rear main seal and a factory one.

What the heck?

i know this seems painfully obvious but... i have read on here many times about the valve cover gasket leaking in the rear that can be misdiagnosed as rear main leaking i hope its not that simple after all the crap you have gone thru but just thought id mention it

yeah wow 3 times geez, you da man.

I had a little oil spray from around the oil filter adapter, but my prob was the main seal which i paid someone to do.