• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

xj needs new shoes

jeeperman1488

NAXJA Forum User
ok guys, before you peg me as a newbie, i'm not. i've read quite abit on here,ran the search before i asked questions(one of the reasons i don't have many posts).i have a 1996 xj sport, with 4.0/aw4/d30/crappy35/3.55:1gears , have a 68mm throttlebody,2inch spacer,k&n coldair intake,dynomax headers and exhaust(the thing screws) . right now i'm running a 2 inch bb on my xj with 30 bfg at's. i'm leaving in the last week of july to head to washington state(from the east coast) soi do have a deadline to try to beat, knowing me the jeep will be finished the night before i leave. now i live in one of those craapy new england state with crappy lift laws(4 inches here in RI). so i don't really want to go over it.....much maybe 5 inches tops. i'm looking to run at least a 33 inch tire maybe bigger if i can stuff it underthere. so i figured on using tj flares to help a bit. i will be carrying a load of stuff. front bumper with winch, rear tire carrier with twin j-cans, since i'll be pretty low i'll skidplate the hell out of it. plus the 2 kayaks and 2 bikes and other gear. most likely around 300 to 350 pounds total. on the bumpers i am trying to watch the weight. along with tire weight. guess the big question i'm looking for an answer for is spring rate. stiff springs don't bother me anfter all it is a station wagon version of a truck(besides that's what suspension seats are for) does anyone know a decent lift with a high spring ratein the height range i'm looking for? i'm working on a budget around 6500 total, which will have to include shipping. i need a lift,tires,front and rear bumpers. most likely a SYE and shaft. going to upgrade to a 8.25 rear. and i want to use a grand for a lil internal engine work. already l