• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Motor swap help

jeep1947

NAXJA Forum User
Ok I have a 93' cherokee with the 4.0, the motor, trany and transfer case all went on me over the course of a week. So i found a new compleate motor, trans, and transfer case out of a 2000 jeep with 40k on it and i got a great deal the whole thing for $350. But the problem is that the 2000 motor is not the exact same, for one it has the coil pack instead of a distributor. Does the cam still have the distributor gear on it because if so i should just be able to use my old distributor. I am also wondering if any of the wireing changed significantly. Now i am experienced and im a mechanic, i just want to have some idea of what im in for when i start this on the weekend. Some one out there has had to of done this before, but searching found nothing. Thanks

Not sure about the motor but if you have an AW4, there are different
sensors on the later one. Maybe you should use the computer and wire
harness out of the 2000 and keep the coil packs.

JXPEEJ said:
Not sure about the motor but if you have an AW4, there are different
sensors on the later one. Maybe you should use the computer and wire
harness out of the 2000 and keep the coil packs.