• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Electrical nightmare

Mike00XJ

NAXJA Forum User
Ok guys, maybe I am a newb but I can take care of most of the problems with my 00 xj that arise...

so here is the deal... about once a year, I will drive and everything starts and runs normally.. then out of nowhere the next start... perhaps only a couple minutes later I turn the key.. get a big click and everything is totally dead.. battery COMPLETELY discharged, then I took my boat battery from the back to try and jump myself... and it ate that battery too! and now neither battery will take a charge after.. and now.. same problem.. wont start with a jump for about 3-5 minutes then will and then it dies like the f-ing idle is set too low... so werid.. ever heard of this before? the battery is only 8 mo. old and the alternator and starter are good...

Do you still have the original wiring. Your oem cables and especially the grounds are bound to be very corroded by now.

I would first look at the cables to see how they look. If there is any corrosion them replace. Next thing I would check is the starter. It sounds like there might be a dead short in it. A short like that will kill a battery fast. The not wanting to idle is a normal thing after a low voltage situation. To get it to relearn the idle you need to hold your foot down on the gas to keep it running, and then put it in gear. I let it move just a bit too (like just a foot), but I'm not sure if it is necessary.

but would it kill a battery and make it not take a charge? what does that, I put a brand new battery in it, ran it for a couple days like normal and today SAME THING! why does it eat the battery and make it dead permanently... I tried to charge it and it is just DEAD.

Yes it could.