• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Rear bumper removal, end caps, tools

Rambler100

NAXJA Forum User
Novice here '95 Cherokee trying to install a hitch. My problem looks like its going to be the bumper. I've searched and can't decide whether to focus on the brackets or remove the bumper from the bracket. Since the right endcap was broken I decided to take them off and right away am stuck on the left unbroken endcap. I read about removing two small bolts and then pushing and sliding but the flat disk on top apparently spins in the end cap. Is the choice to break the endcap or try to bust the nut? Also one reccommendation (for the bumper) suggests a ratcheting wrench. I think 15mm. So I could use some advice on the tools to buy to start doing some of my own work. My old stuff is all from a basic '68 or '69 100-pc. craftsman set. Never made it to the metric age.
So the immediate goal is to install a HiddenHitch with nutstrips (on order).

I replaced the rear bumper on my 98 with a tomken w/built in 2" receiver. Got tired of working those nuts inside so I just drilled holes in the face of the bumper, stuck a socket on each nut, stuck a 6" extension thru and spun em off. If I had been going to put the bumper back on I would have picked up some rubber plugs and used them. I had my rear bumper off 2 or 4 times and always ended up with massive blood loss and badly scraped hands hence the holes...