• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Bad new Master cylinder?

Stumpalump

NAXJA Forum User
I put on a new Master cylinder and a ford 8.8 disk rear. Currently running a gutted proportioning valve which I will address later. I bleed them 3 times with a quart of fluid. 35" tires on alloy wheels. During normal breaking it seems just ok. But that last bit of total stopping or panic stopping the pedal is squishy and goes way down. It wont jerk your head if you really mash it going from 5 to zero. It's a 1998 so it should be the better xj Master cylinder and booster and is non ABS. You can kinda of hear a squishy noise in the master cylinder as the pedal goes down and it is never solid feeling. Do you think I got a bad rebuilt master cylinder? I know I should not have great breaks with this setup but I have all new pads,hoses and master cylinder all bleed well but they just feel like crap. The booster holds vac. This is the first time out with this setup and I can't judge how it should feel.

When I had "unanswerable to all local shops" questions with my braking I called Van at VancoPBS. He knew exactly what was wrong right away, was very helpful. Give him a try

323 563 1588
He is also on JU as Vanco or VancoPBS

Did the master cylinder get bench bled? If not, there's a part of your problem. A good way to tell is to completely block off the outlet ports of the m/c and check the pedal with motor off. Should be hard as a rock and high pedal. Then you can move plugs around to various downstream locations in the sys to see where the sponginess is coming from.