• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

NOOB Here!

rebeltruce

NAXJA Forum User
Hello fella's,

Just bought a 2000 Cherokee Classic 4.0 Auto. Was driving a Grand Cherokee Laredo V8 for about 3 years, and decided I'd never own anything but a Jeep so far as SUV's go.

My Grand Cherokee has 200,000 miles on her and recently had a major issue with the AWD system, so I parked it until I get it figured out.

Needed a new vehicle and was fortunate enough to have a friend who is the Controller at a local Northern Va. Jeep/Chrysler dealership. They got the 2000 Classic in on trade. It has 77,000 miles on the odometer, and seems to run perfectly. A couple things I've noticed:

1) I seem to have to crank it for awhile when starting it cold. After it's warm it seems OK. I have a 3 month warranty, so if this is abnormal I will take it back rather then mess with it myself just yet. No gas smell or anything like that it just seems to take a bit more time then I am used to to start.

2) I hear a low tone "wah, wah, wah...." noise at low speeds from the ass end. I'm reasonably sure it isn't tire noise, I know what that sounds like. Something to be concerned about?

3) Not a big deal here, but I am missing a center hub piece on one of the wheels.....are they available out there in the aftermarket? Bone yard perhaps?

I am pretty good with a wrench, but like I mentioned have a warranty, so I'd like to take advantage of it before having to get my hands greasey.

This is a great forum, I look forward to learning all about this truck.

Thanks
Truce

1. Not sure how to fix this issue. maybe time for tune-up??