• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

locker question

SUA SPONTE

NAXJA Forum User
I'm new to the locker game but finally have enough money to start throwing into my axles. Had a few newb questions(i couldnt find in the search forums)hope you salty dogs dont mind anserin-
-can i re-use my locker if i regear?
-why do auto lockers "act funny" in snow? what does that mean? is it better to be unlocked in snow and ice?
-if i only do one axle, which is most effective, front or rear?
why do the ox and arb cost so damn much compared to the detroit true track and aussie?
alright thanks for clearing away some of these loose ends for me and i hope some other newbs find this thread useful down the road.
rltw

1) you may be able to re use your locker if you re-gear. Depends on axle and gear ratio.

2)On sidehills a locked axle will want to slide downhill on snow and ice. In an open differentialed rig, only one of the tires spins, so the other acts as an anchor, with them both locked together, they both slip and slide.

3) rear

4)OX and ARB are selectable lockers. They can be "ON or OFF" an "auto" locker like a detroit is always locked, there is no open differential mode.

SUA SPONTE said:
I'm new to the locker game but finally have enough money to start throwing into my axles. Had a few newb questions(i couldnt find in the search forums)hope you salty dogs dont mind anserin-
-why do auto lockers "act funny" in snow? what does that mean? is it better to be unlocked in snow and ice?
why do the ox and arb cost so damn much compared to the detroit true track and aussie?
alright thanks for clearing away some of these loose ends for me and i hope some other newbs find this thread useful down the road.
rltw