• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Exhaust help please!

klennop

NAXJA Forum User
I have an 01 Limited lifted with a hitch.

I want to replace from before the cat and back. So basically cat and cat back exhaust. I have never done this before and I am not a welder but I am noticing some things that don't look right to me.

My cat has the flanges on both sides of it.
Where my exhaust meets the cat there is a flange on it before the muffler.

All these aftermarket cat back systems don't seem to have the flange on the front of them to meet up with the cat. It looks like Rusty's and Magnaflows all seem to be the same way. The Borla looks like it has the flange but some people have said they had to modify it to make it fit on a lifted jeep.

Rustys says: "* 01 models require cutting of muffler flange. Cut on the muffler side of the flange where muffler is welded, about 2.5" behind flange. Then slide the flowmaster onto the 2.5" extension."
So it seems to me like the Magna flow is the same way as Rustys from pictures.
I don't want to leave a old crappy piece of pipe there that is going to rust out faster than my new exhaust and once that piece holding on the new exhaust goes to hell, then what? My exhaust will no longer be connected to the cat.

Since I am replacing the cat, should I be looking for a cat without the flanges? Then how do I connect the cat to the muffler and also in the front to the downpipe? Since the downpipe has a flange on it also for connecting the cat to it. I do know that my cat doesn't have an 02 sensor on it either.

Any help, part numbers, pipe size info or pictures would be greatly appreciated!!!:wow:

Thanks!!

You should weld the new system together. You can install new exhaust pipe with clamps, but it:
1) looks like crap.
2) may leak around the clamped pipe.