• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

4wd AW4 into 2wd 99 XJ

kre8tivity

NAXJA Forum User
I am trying to help a friend with a 99 2wd XJ. Can a 4wd AW4 be swapped into a 2wd XJ easily? I am new to XJ's and the AW4 and have been looking but finding mostly info about trying to put a 2wd AW4 into a 4wd and she needs to do the opposite. Anyone able to save me a bit of time and share any pertinent details or links to info?

It should bolt right up to the engine and plug-n-play on the wiring. You can bolt the xfer case behind that. You'll need to hunt down a matching front axle, driveshafts, xfer case shift linkage, xfer case floor shifter, maybe a tranny mount if they're different, etc. I don't think a 99 has a vacumn disconnect so no plumbing for that.

I just finished this on my 99 (actually testing tonight!!!).
Here is what I found::paper: