• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

dana 35 to a 44

bigboyslimjimbo

NAXJA Forum User
im pretty new to the lifted xj scene but i currently have a rustys 3" full pack kit and 31's. but i want to eventually go to 33's when i have another everyday driver. but i am curious on how you can swap the dana 35 in the rear for an axel big enough to handle the 33's. im open to what yall have to say.see i dont know if i can keep the same axel housing and beef it up so i can run those tires or what so. im kinda confused. if any of u guys could clear this up i would appreciate it.

ditch the 35, it's weak.
a few questions:
What year is your XJ?
Do you have ABS?
What drivetrain do you have in your XJ?

The easiest swap would be a D44 from an 87-89 XJ (rare) or an 8.25 from a 97+ XJ, (plentiful)
Both are about the same strength, both would bolt in. The only real question is do you have ABS? If you do, you'll have to come up with something for the tone rings, or delete the ABS system.

bigboyslimjimbo said:
wat about up front. would i have to swap the 30??

You're getting into a Grey area. There are different opinions on this. It depends how you are on the skinny pedal, if you plan on locking it... yada, yada, yada. You can upgrade it too.

If you are a reasonable driver, the 30 will be fine. you may want to upgrade to newer 290X shafts though.

ok good thats wat i wanted to know. so ur sayin if i dont dog all the time i should be fine with th 30 and if i want to be a little safer i can upgrade the original shafts right. so before i decide to go bigger to 33's i should get a 8.25 out of a cherokee from a junk yard or somethin and probably beef up the front shafts.

My advice would start by reading Crashes Thread on this subject. Don't rule out a 8.8 ford rear for a inexpensive alternative. My .02
Russ