• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Mean Green Goodies

ive got the mean green altanator.ive been runing it for 5 years now with no probs and it works well i run my sub 3 pairs of lights and a winch off my redtop batt..the alt seams to do a great job

Read here that they where not worth the money, if your looking for the ALT. cheaper solution would be to get a 130 amp zj ALT or have 5-90's buddy rebuild yours to a higher output.

i know nothing of the starters.

battery trays are ok.. spendy

Have thier alternator on my fiance's xj. Never had a problem with it, had it in pretty deep mud and water (deep for a stock xj that is) without problems. Amperage output is way overkill for her jeep, but that leaves room for future upgrades.
However the price is too steep, like aroncull said, I would look at the other options before buying another one of thier products.

xuv-this said:
oops. i was wrong and it was the alt. searched for ya' and found this:

heres a little secret: grand cherokees of similar (don't know exact) years used the same style alternator. if you buy a (cheaper than mean green) "performance alternator" all it is is the oem from a gc with a v8-around 130 amps or so(xj's are around 95 amps i think) since it won't run anyway, i would take it off, go to autozone, and tell them it is a later model gc, and buy the alternator that looks like yours.

from thread: http://www.naxja.org/forum/showthread.php?t=54336&highlight=grand+cherokee+alternator

read it another thread around here that i cannot find now...

isnt it the durango alt that is 136 amp i think you just have to file a lil or grind a tiny bit and it is bolt in.

I had not heard of 5-90 buddy do custom alts but would like to read that thread if it is handy.