• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

URGENT- HELP NEEDED NOW - distributor

Nixt

NAXJA Forum User
OK, I'm a novice mechanic, and may have dug myself a hole here.

I just swapped out my distributor.
I did not do TDC like the manual says, but used the "out and in at same position" method described in many threads here.

First time in, it wouldn't start. Second time in I made a slight rotation towards what I thought was the right direction. I could not tell AT ALL how many teeth shift I did. I could not get a sense of the teeth passing each other no matter how I rotated/pressed/jiggled as I shifted it.

It started right up real good and ran strong around the block, but approaching the house I got a rough idle (oscillating a bit, and choppy). The engine light is now on and throws codes 1391 & 108.

1391 is cam/crank synchronisation, I think.
108 is a MAP overvoltage code.

Please if anyone is out there right now - reply quick. I have an hour or so before work in the AM to try again, but I want to hear what you have to say first.

Thanks...

OK, have gotten CKS to TDC, but now the dist. housing will not line up with hte bolt hole if I follow the procedure at Dino's page.

The dist. housing is about 2 degrees off in the counterclock direction. - so it won't allow bolting in with the retaining pin still in place. If I pull the pin, of course it will let the housing rotate that little bit - but that seems to be a bad idea.

Anyone got time to help/advise?