• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

What to look for when buying an XJ?

lost honda pro

NAXJA Forum User
Alright, so as you can all tell, this is my first post...

I've been playing with Honda's for a while now, but i want something with some more space, more versatility, and something that can drive over some stuff :D I'm also a full time student @ UF, so I need something reliable, easy on the budget, fun to play around with, and most importantly, cheap to mod...

So I'm planning on shopping for XJ's in the near future, and wanted the advice of some seasoned professionals on things to look for when buying an XJ:

1) I did a search, found this post (http://www.naxja.org/forum/showthread.php?t=907706&highlight=buying+jeep) which had some very useful info, but wanted to ask about some other things as well...

2) from what I understand, the '00-'01's had an '0331' cylinder head that was prone to cracking, so I will avoid these models completely.

3) i've heard the D35 rear end was the weakest the XJ's offered, and the 8.25" chrysler or bigger is the way to go

4) the valve covers tend to leak toward the back of the head, and sometimes this can look like a rear main seal leak

5) the rear end seals have a tendancy of leaking

6) the AX4 tranny is the best OEM option for traffic/trail running/drivetrain shock absorbtion ( i am very competent with a manual, but gainesville traffic is horrendous)

is there any difference in maintenance cost/reliability between the newer, distributorless ignition versus the older distributor models?

is there anyway to distinguish the better rear ends from the D35?

is one T-case better than the rest?

are there ANY other typical issues i should inspect when giving an XJ the once-over?