• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Help w/ driveline!

tomas0210

NAXJA Forum User
OK so I have 97 xj with a 6.5" lift and 33" tires. I've alway's been into the mud but now I want to experience the rocks. So I need your help. What type and size of axles, gears, lockers, joints, anything. I'm new to this so help me out!!! thanks

Dana 44's or bigger (8.8 ford is plenty strong for a rear axle), ARB's (If you have the dough) If not, then a Lockrite in the front, and Detroit in the back. 4.56 gears or lower. Possibly 4.88's or 5.13's if you don't drive the street all that often, you're gonna need an SYE if you don't already have one. HD SYE is recommended.

A Tom Wood's rear shaft is gonna help out a lot when it comes to strength. The front shaft I wouldn't worry about upgrading, just carry a spare.

Longarm always helps if you aren't already running them, the more flex, the better when it comes to crawling.

Winch, or some good buddies and some sturdy recovery points.

Rock sliders if you like your rocker panels...

Carry a spare tire and wheel..

Hi-lift is a must, and load up with tools before you go out.

tomas0210 said:
OK so I have 97 xj with a 6.5" lift and 33" tires. I've alway's been into the mud but now I want to experience the rocks. So I need your help. What type and size of axles, gears, lockers, joints, anything. I'm new to this so help me out!!! thanks