• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Need AW4

Is the AW4 actually different for those years? I thought it was just the seperate TCU (integrated with the ECU on later years, not part of the tranny) that made those years easier to swap to other rigs.

The reason I ask is that I've been eyeing an engine/tranny combo for sale out of a 2001 to swap into my '94. If I end up buying the combo I'd have either a '94 or 2001 AW4 tranny left over, but no seperate TCU. I do think I saw a few early AW4 TCUs still in the XJs at the Pick and Pull yard in Mesa (for that matter there may have been complete early AW4s in the yard as well.)

Last edited:
DrMoab said:
I have one from an 89.

Would you be willing to ship it from Utah?

How much you looking to spend?

It depends on what I'm getting. How many miles? Does it need to be rebuilt? Has it been rebuilt? All that stuff will come into play when it comes to $. If it’s the right deal I would pay for shipping, but I'm going to be in Utah the weekend after Easter. Where are you located?

cwstnsko said:
Is the AW4 actually different for those years? I thought it was just the seperate TCU (integrated with the ECU on later years, not part of the tranny) that made those years easier to swap to other rigs.

The reason I ask is that I've been eyeing an engine/tranny combo for sale out of a 2001 to swap into my '94. If I end up buying the combo I'd have either a '94 or 2001 AW4 tranny left over, but no seperate TCU. I do think I saw a few early AW4 TCUs still in the XJs at the Pick and Pull yard in Mesa (for that matter there may have been complete early AW4s in the yard as well.)