• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

rear sway bar

2000pacherokee

NAXJA Forum User
hey guys and gals
i just stuck a 2" spacer lift on my 2000 cherokee which went quite well. then i put on the new wrangler five spoke wheels and 31 " tires i got on and found out the wheel spacing is different from my stock rims. now my rear sway bar ends just rub the inside of my tires ( not cutting them just rubbing ) . now my question is because i'm a newb,,, is can i get rid of the rear sway bar altogether with out hurt anything being a daily driver?
thanks for any help.
danny

Yes you can. The XJs with UpCountry package didnt even come with a rear swaybar.
How wide are your tires. If they are 31X10.50s, they shouldnt be rubbing.

take it off throw it away and never look back

I removed my rear swaybar about 4000 miles ago. I drive up to 80 mph on the highway regularly without problems. It's still an XJ, so don't try whipping around turns (even with a swaybar), but it doesn't make a noticable on-road difference. I also have a 3 in. lift and 31's.

hey gang
yeah i just searched it on here and alot of people have trashed the rear sway bar so i guess i have a lil more work tomorrow. thanks gang.
danny

yeah just toss it bro

remove it quick...b4, it cuts the tire because it will, the second you go sideways (witch is often 4 me but i got 10 mos of icey roads to play on-gotta have some reason for enduring -20 degrees or worse)

I've heard the only reason to keep it on is if you tow anything, like a camper or a boat. Anyone else hear this?
========================================
I tow a lot and it's defiantly a plus if you tow heavy and a lot. If you put a big load on the roof it can come in handily to. On a stock Jeep running empty you may be better of without it.