• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

install price? (gears)

little red cheroke

NAXJA Forum User
$1300 front and rear for everything. HP 30 and 8.25. current ratio is 3.55 so that price is with the new D30 carrier. i really wish i could do this my self but its my DD and i have no experience with gears. is it usually cheaper to do the install with the axles out of the jeep? is installing a set of gears really as hard as everyone makes it out to be? i have some mechanical skills....should i really be scared of doing this on my DD?

thanks much

good lord...I recommend buying your gears and master install kits on your own and then price out the labor at various places. On average, the labor per axle should be between $200 - $350 (at most).

If you have never done gears before, i'd recommend that someone with experience do them unless you have plenty of time and the right tools. getting the shims and backlash set properly is the tricky part and if you do it yourself, buy plenty of crush sleeves just in case.

Yeah thats what I am doing above - I talked to shops first to make sure they will install gears you don't buy from them first. Seems like every place I went to for my dodge, there prices for gears were about 100 bucks more. The place I am using now - quoted 250 for one axle, 200 an axle if you do two.

Make sure you go to a place that knows what they are doing. I made the mistake of price shopping a bit, and found a guy at a shop that would give me a good rate. Needless to say it turned into a HUGE disaster. The rear gears were set up terribly wrong, blew up. I ended up having to pay somebody else to fix his mistakes, plus lost out on those parts and that labor. Like I said, big mess.