• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

What do I REALLY need? Newbie question

XJ Bob

NAXJA Forum User
Newbie here, yes I have used the search funtion and looked on the net too. I've found a lot of half answers to my questions.

What I have:

1992 XJ, 4.0L, auto tranny with Select Trac transfer case, D30/35c axles, 3.55 gears.

What I want to use it for:

Driving up the local gravel logging roads in the winter to go snowshoeing to lakes and hiking trails with a better chance of getting there. During the wet seasons these roads can be slick and muddy but not usually a mud bog. The kind of stuff where open differentials can get you stuck.

In the summer exploring the old often abandoned forest roads, sometimes to old lookout towers. You know the type, often eroded with ruts, rocks sticking up etc.

I do not plan to climb big rocks and bolders or bogging through mud pits.

What I think I need:

31x9.5 Super Swampers or similar.

3" lift with new LCA and rear leafs.

Some type of selectable lockers, front and rear.

Where I'm confused:

How many steering and ride issues come with a 3" lift?

Are the stock axles strong enough for my kind of useage? Would heavy duty axle shafts be enough, or are D 44's the way to go?

And I am a guy so I err on the side of Testosterone and spending money. :laugh:

Get a 29 spline 8.25 or dana 44 for the rear.

4.10 gears front and rear

Look at a lift with lca's and uca's, as well as a trackbar and longer brake lines.

Do it right the first time.