• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Engine Swap(2.5 to 4.0)

jesusjeep19

NAXJA Forum User
I searched but couldn't find anything of a 2.5 to 4.0. How much work would be involved? What would be needed?
-Engine and tranny
-T-Case?
-Wiring Harness
-ECU
-Radiator and cooling fans

What else am I forgeting? Thanks.

i have no practical knowledge about this but there have been several, if not many, threads on this subject during the past couple of years. Not sure what you will have to plug into search to find them -- "firewall" comes to mind.

I've done it. What year do you have?

In general, it is a big swap job. You need a complete donor vehicle to get the engine, mounts, radiator, tranny, wiring harness, and computer. If it is a pre 87, you need a hood, front radiator supports, sheetmetal to hold headlights (has to be cut off and moved).

On the early model XJ's, you have to cut off the vertical sheetmetal behind the headlights and move it to the new vehicle. It takes a touch of skill. You also have to "adjust" the firewall about a half inch in one spot with a BFH.

Unless you are a glutton for punishment, I recommend finding a nice 4.0L and buying it, then selling your old rig. In most cases it will be cheaper and a hell of a lot easier.

I have done the swap listed below last year and it is not that bad
NOTE: THIS IS A COMANCHE “MJ” SWAP SO THE XJ MAY HAVE OTHER REQUIREMENTS THAT I WOULD NOT KNOW
I would think most of the hard parts are exactly the same but wiring requirements may be different on the XJ
Thought this info would help you understand what is entailed in a swap

(THIS INFO IS BASED ON USING COMANCHE PARTS 87-89)

I took a 4cy 2wd 5sp Comanche(89) and swapped in a 4.0, auto, 4wd system into it from an 1987
First you need to pull all the items below from the DONER truck with the 4.0