• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

axle shafts for dana 35?

jdurbach

NAXJA Forum User
Im a college student and I dont have money to do an axle swap on my 99 xj. I know there is a 30 spline kit for the 35 but thats 900 dollars without labor for the internals. It sounds crappy but is there anyone out there who makes stronger than stock axle shafts that are the same spline count as stock(27?). Also how do I tell if I have the trac loc diff?

I think Rusty's sells them.

Two burnout marks means a trac loc.

Just hold your brake all the way down and give it gas until you hear rubber peal. Then drive a few feet and get out and look to see if there is one burnout mark or two.

you can also look at the tag on the rear diff cover and if it has not been removed it will have inducations of the trac lok b/c of a tag saying to use limited slip fliud, or something of that nature. Also, you can take the last 8 or 9 digits of your VIN number and call the local service/parts department at the dealer and they can tell you if you have a trac lok or not, as well as your gear ratio if you dont already know it.

j99xj said:
I think Rusty's sells them.

Two burnout marks means a trac loc.

Just hold your brake all the way down and give it gas until you hear rubber peal. Then drive a few feet and get out and look to see if there is one burnout mark or two.
Im not sure I would advise that, especially with a D35. Just pull the cover and see whats inside. Just make sure you have the gear oil to fill it back up afterwards.

I dont know what your price range is, but you might be able to find a D44 from a XJ or MJ at a junk yard that will bolt right in. Might be less the $200, and will be a lot stronger then anything you do to a D35.