• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Do I have to...

bmyohn

NAXJA Forum User
I am new to off-roading, well actually i havent done any off-roading yet, my parents wont let me. They think i have to change all the fluids and filters after everytime i go off-roading. Is this true??? I want to convince them that i wont do any serious damage to the Jeep before i lift it. Will i do anything like that (changing all the liquids after i go offroading)???

Brendan

Fluids need to be changed when they need to be changed, what ever miles you put on your ride offroad may put a little more stress on the parts that have changable fluid in them, so if you do a lot of off roading you can maybe change them every 2500miles instead of every 3000 or however often you do them. But engine, tranny, t-case don't need to be changed every outing, say again do not need to be changed. Now as for the difs, if you are in a lot of water, n mud you may want to change the dif fluids more often on the front d30 you have. Unless you have something extra like the Superior Axle Seals to help keep crap out of there, they will take water n mud in thru the axle tubes whenever you cross the wet stuff. Result is milky, ugly rather useless dif fluid that you'll want to change more often.
other than that I would say your good to go, I don't change my fluids any more often than I did when I didn't offroad, and my ride runs better than when I bought.
enjoy your ride, on the road and off.