• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

New guy question...

XJsurf

NAXJA Forum User
How's everyone doing, I'm new to NAXJA. Heard great things about this forum. Figure I'd give it a spin. So here we go. 2 part question...

1st part....
I have a 97XJ with a RE 4.5" lift, with 2" spacers on the front and 1.5" block on the rear. My front suspension makes so much noise. So I've checked all the nuts and bolts and have come to realize it might be time to upgrade to a longarm system. Now I don't plan on buying a whole kit but just upgrading the control arms. Well I've been looking at the Teraflex longarm upgrade, my only concern is what happens with the upper control arms. Is anybody or does anybody know if someone has this on their rig????

2nd part....
Recently I have noticed that when I'm in reverse and depress the brakes one side of my axle will clunk and snap to the rear. Any guess what might be causing this???

Thanks in advance for any advice or tips.

I'm fairly new on here as well and I have to say it has been a positive experience, cool people that love Jeeps and an unbelievable wealth of knowledge amongst the group. Just my 2 cents.

Anyway, I know you said you checked all the nuts and blots and everything, but did you look for signs of wear on your bushings? Specifically the control arm ones, dunno just thinking out loud. I don't know about the long arm setup though, don't have it myself, but someone else will chime in I'm sure.

Also, as far as the reverse clunk. Have you taken your drums off and looked inside your brakes? Sounds like it is coming from there.