• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Window Regulator Replacement

Rew70

NAXJA Forum User
I'm a Noob here and have a 99 Sport. A couple of questions for you...

A) Can anyone help me with instructions on how to replace the driver side power window regulator and motor?

B) All windows only work from the driver side. None of them work from their respective controls on the door. Cause? Fix?

Thanks a ton!

Even a Haynes or Chilton manual will tell you how to do the regulator. Fairly easy job depending on your mechanical skills. Make sure that is really the problem since it appears you are having problems with the switches and wiring. Do a search on power windows - I know there are several discussions on diagnosing and fixing earlier years and they may be applicable to your year.

Spudboy said:
Even a Haynes or Chilton manual will tell you how to do the regulator. Fairly easy job depending on your mechanical skills. Make sure that is really the problem since it appears you are having problems with the switches and wiring. Do a search on power windows - I know there are several discussions on diagnosing and fixing earlier years and they may be applicable to your year.

Thanks. I have a Haynes manual and it's bare cconcerning that topic. I will try a search and go from there. Thanks again for the input.

From what I am reading it seems that the regulator is ok. Do a seach for the power window lock out switch. That seems to the cause for only the switches on the drivers door working and none of the others. The replacement of the window regulator is an easy job.

Charles
'99XJ