• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

budget boost worth it?

87woodyXJ

NAXJA Forum User
Hi all Im new to the world of wheeling (own a modded mustang GT) but figured id mess around with a wheeler when i got a deal on a 87 wagoneer xj.. so Im looking to go pretty cheap as a "mudder" and light/moderate trail rig.. so I was looking at a budget boost and then some recovery stuff, lights etc.. BUT my question is, is it worth it to do a budget boost for a moderate trail rig or should I just save for a 4.5 Rough Country lift or something of the sort. sorry to ramble but I think I got the point across :eyes:

thanks,
Kieth

You really need to find out how much trail you want to do. A BB isonr thing, a 3" another, and 4.5 you are talking lots of $$$ and parts. I whanted to lift up to 3 inch but realized I dont need it for now so I will get a 2". Start with good hooks, recovery strap, tires, full size spare, then think of how much lift you NEED, not want.

A B-Boost will be cheap, you can even run stock shock is some cases but 4.5, you will need lots of stuff.

My 2cent

I got my budget boost and was happy with it. and there really not that much. i'd say go for it, but it all depends on what you want to be doing down the road. i upgraded to a RE 3.5" superflex kit, and when i have the cash to throw on a short shaft kit, i'll throw my budget boost back on too for the extra lift.

Frankkl said:
You really need to find out how much trail you want to do. A BB isonr thing, a 3" another, and 4.5 you are talking lots of $$$ and parts. I whanted to lift up to 3 inch but realized I dont need it for now so I will get a 2". Start with good hooks, recovery strap, tires, full size spare, then think of how much lift you NEED, not want.