• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Chasing my tail

brandon_750

NAXJA Forum User
My 1990 4.0 is losing power about 1/3 into the pedel. I posted it up and was told to check my TPS. Did the Neg D terminal to Positive A terminal had 4.73 volts. Hooked up positive to B had 4.18 volts. Pretty close to specs. 5.0 and 4.2 repectively are what is called for. Checked for Vacuum leaks (BTW I am not a mechanic.) couldn't find any. After I hooked everything back up the XJ seemed to idle a little better. Was wandering between 450-750 before. But my unexplained power loss is still there. So from 1/3 to right before WOT real low power. When you put it to the floor tranny kicks down and away she goes.

ECOMIKE I checked 02 sensor and TPS sensor They are hooked up correctly.
So could it still be my TPS sensor. I was an idiot and did not mess with the throttle to see if the volts changed with it. Suggestions??????