• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

HELP aw4 problem 90xj

NOS/86

NAXJA Forum User
ok , heres what its doing .

it seems to shift just fine driving on the street . all 4 gears and good firm shifts .

but last time out wheelin . and this started just all of sudden too .

was cilmbing a set of rocks and the trans starts acting like it is slipping /or the converter is stall . (i wheel it in the drive postion on shifter ) it was still pulling slowly .

i backed off the hill , checked the trans fuild (smeeled fine /no burnt smell), added just a little (half qt. maybe)

hit the hill again . did same thing .(slipping/stalling) this time i pulled it down into 1st and it took off just fine .

i then let it cool down , thinking i might have just got it hot .

after this i started playing with it and noiticed that the trans will shift fine in drive as long as it isn't in a hard pull .

all most acts like it won't downshift . evertime i tryed to go up a hill or get it in a pull i had to manuel pull the shifter into 1st and shift it back into drive . it seemed to work fine that way with no slip/stalling .

i almost thing its a solinoid or something else because i wheeled the rest of the day with no problems . well but for the manuel shifting . and i guess i put about 30 miles (wheelin) on it after this happened .

help .....thanks eric

fuse is good on the tcu right? fuse (under the dash centered under the glove box) on the passenger side blows and it will keep starting out the trans in 2nd gear IIRC.

yellowxj said:
fuse is good on the tcu right? fuse (under the dash centered under the glove box) on the passenger side blows and it will keep starting out the trans in 2nd gear IIRC.