• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

D30 Axle Ujoint Replacement

afjeep2082

NAXJA Forum User
Hey I am very new to working with axles and my front (D30) axles needs new ujoints bad!! I really want to do this myself, I have done some searching and it seems I need to remove my shafts? if so how difficult is this and what is the process?...will I need and special tools? any tricks or tips?

1993 jeep cherokee sport
4.0L Auto.

Thanks I saw that link, but I am more needing help on taking out the axle shafts. I have never done this nor have I helped anyone with it so I just wanted to see if I could get a step-by-step maby from someone on the process. This is my front axle so I have my steering stuff up there and I'm just not sure enough if I can just remove it with typical tools or if I have to have anything special.

here is general step by step
Remove wheel
remove caliper bolts (13mm)
pull off rotor
remove axle nut(36mm)? Impact gun would help, if not huge breaker bar will do.
remove unit bearing. Maybe a PITA give it a couple good smacks should loosen it up.
pull out shaft carefully so you dont damage the seals.

Yes it could be done at home with basic tools....

Last edited:
arn't the shafts held in with c-clips in the carrier? and I don't have to take off the knuckle?

.......sorry if it sounds dumb :-(

Last edited:
front dana 30 is semi-floated

pull off the bearing unit and slide out the shaft

ive found if you dont have an impact take the wheel off then put it in 4low/ have someone stand on the brakes and take the axle nut off then take the brakes off

so I don't have to take apart the carrier at all? wow, I might anyways to change the fluids but this seems alot easyier then I though it was going to be

Having just done my axle u-joints last week..............