• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Overhead Console

Woody Long

NAXJA Forum User
Hey boys and girls, I'm a newbie here so don't burn my ass too much about this question. I did a search about it but I still have some unanswered questions.

I acquired an overhead console from what I thought was a 2000 Cherokee, but it may be from a 94~96. I scrounged up some #'s and here they are (they are on the back of the console)

Mini Van

4688400 W/ELECT
4688399 W/O ELECT
4688401 EURO

and

Jeep

Then there is a sticker with

011 095N54

I want to get it working on the bench (or living room floor) so I grabbed some wiring diagrams for 94~97 and got cracking. I marked all the wires that came out of the front of the unit and was able to get the lights wired up and working, but the temp sensor won't show anything and I'm am little scared to wire up the compass (plus I don't really know what to hook up).

I can't post a pic up now (don't have the camera), but the unit has fabric covering the whole perimeter of it, has the STEP and US/M buttons only, and the little bubble that harnesses the remote door locks.

Looking at the diagrams the Serial Buss wires up to the HEVAC Control, does this need to be hooked up to get the temp sensor working?

Thanks

IIRC all XJ consoles have wires for the temp sensor. The 8?-96 only have temp and the compass. The 97-00 have temp, compass, trip computer, fuel milage info, and a few more things. ZJ, and 92-(at least)95 van consoles have all the things that the 97+ consoles have, but everything is read from the CCD BUSS conection. So if you have a van, or ZJ console the only thing you will get to work is the compass, and lights. If you have a 97-00 console trying to swap into a pre 97. The only things you will get to work is temp, compass, and the lights.