• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Stripped brake caliper thread

Mikel

NAXJA Forum User
Hello,
I have stripped one of the two mounting threads of my 95's front brake caliper. Will a helicoil be 100% safe? This is my main concern.
Thank you

Mikel :doh:

Should have searched. Found all kinds of info, but can't delete the thread.

I would replace it with a new/rebuilt unit and turn in the damaged one as the core. Brakes are TOO important to use a helicoil on. I work as an engineer in Aviation and the old guy in structures was telling me how heli-coils were just a bad idea.

Spend the money and replace the caliper also I'd install it with a hew hose and renew that side of the vehicle. I do not want you to be that one guy who went cheap and ended up hurting someone if the helicoil let go.

I am the type who would replace a part to remove all doubt. When I go cheap I end up paying even more than if i fixed it right the first time.

martin said:
I would replace it with a new/rebuilt unit and turn in the damaged one as the core. Brakes are TOO important to use a helicoil on. I work as an engineer in Aviation and the old guy in structures was telling me how heli-coils were just a bad idea.

Spend the money and replace the caliper also I'd install it with a hew hose and renew that side of the vehicle. I do not want you to be that one guy who went cheap and ended up hurting someone if the helicoil let go.

I am the type who would replace a part to remove all doubt. When I go cheap I end up paying even more than if i fixed it right the first time.

the knuckle is threaded, not the caliper. he would need a whole new knuckle. if it were only the caliper, I would also suggest replacing it.