• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

New brake hardware..

imma honky

NAXJA Forum User
More specific, brake lines.
During my strip down process, I ended up butchering the brake lines (see rusted). So now I need to run all new lines. What all do I need and how much line should I get? What is the best place to get it? Brand? Should I use bigger than stock lines?
I have NEVER messed with brake lines before, but learn fast.
I have a 99 booster and master cyl.
I have a D44 going in that already has disks swapped in..
Any and all help is appreciated.

Bigger than stock lines probably won't do you much good unless you can open up the various fittings as well. In any event, there's really relatively little fluid movement in a brake system.

How much you'll need is really dependent on how much is trashed. You could always go to the stealership and get prebent lines at a premium (or maybe Inline Tube or Classic Tube.)

If you want to bend your own, you'll need a tubing bender and a flare tool, probably a small tubing cutter as well. I'm a BIG fan of this flare tool: http://www.jcwhitney.com/autoparts/...owse/s-10101/Ntk-AllTextSearchGroup?Ntt=flare Don't forget the double flare adapter buttons.

ChiXJeff said:
Bigger than stock lines probably won't do you much good unless you can open up the various fittings as well. In any event, there's really relatively little fluid movement in a brake system.

How much you'll need is really dependent on how much is trashed. You could always go to the stealership and get prebent lines at a premium (or maybe Inline Tube or Classic Tube.)