• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Main eye nut replacement..the easy way.

green50gt

NAXJA Forum User
Ok, so I am not new to jeeps, but I am new to XJ's. I want to say I do respect everything you guys are saying, because frankly I don't know a lot about XJ's. However, one thing I thought was really dumb, was going through the floor to replace the main eye nut for the front of the leaf spring. One red flag I saw was something I red about a cross member? Anyway, I hated the idea of number 1 ripping the interior out, then number 2 making a big hole in the floor. So, I went through the bottom. It took me all of 30 minutes to do, and I was back in business. Now, mind you I havent cleaned up, this is exremely rough. I honestly do not feel the integrity of this bracket was harmed in any way. Youll notice I stayed inside of where the bends are. I used a drill to get a couple access holes, a dremel, and a die grinder. The nut fell right out, I pushed a new generic nut up in there, slid a 13/16 open end wrench up there, and there it was. The only downside I see as of yet your typical mig or tig cannot get up there to put a nice weld across the bottom of the nut, your going to have a use an arc to get up there. Peace
normal_10768-bolt1.jpg

Last edited:
green50gt said:
The only downside I see as of yet your typical mig or tig cannot get up there to put a nice weld across the bottom of the nut, your going to have a use an arc to get up there. P

Hey bro, I didn't even weld the nut back in place. I figured if it's good enough for the other end to keep the nut 'free', it's good enough for the front. I just put a wrench up in there when I have to replace leaf springs. :)

Funny you posted this at the very same time I was posting in the other thread that you don't have to cut the floor out. Thanks!