• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Tilt steering wheel loose at column center

klonestar

NAXJA Forum User
Not the steering wheel thats loose but the center portion of the column where it swivels. Has about an inch of loose play both up/down and left/right (at steering wheel). What do I need to repair or replace?

Any special tools required?

Thanks,
Ken

Yes. I haven't done this repair with an airbag equipped vehicle but the not normal tools I needed were:

Steering Wheel Puller (a Harmonic Balancer puller will work)
Steering Lock Plate depressor
Tilt Pivot Pin Puller ( a small grade 8 bolt, nut washer and socket good be used for this.

When I worked as a GM tech 20 years ago this job took about 45 minutes, the last one I did several years ago took me close to 3 hours as I had forgotten some of the tricks/ short cuts. It's been a long time since I explained this on this forum but I'll give an attempt.

NON AIR BAG EQUIPPED VEHICLE
There are four bolts retaining a pivot yoke doen in the column below the shift collar.

Disconnect battery.
Remove horn pad.
Remove snap ring and loosen steering wheel retaining nut so there is a good size gap between the nut and steering wheel.
Install steering wheel puller, start removing wheel with steady pressure.
AFTER wheel pops free, remove nut and steering wheel.
Install lock ring plate depressing tool and remove snap ring. The lock ring plate is spring loaded!
slowly back off deprosser tool unloading spring.
Remove tool and plate.
Next remove horn contact by sliding up off of shaft.
Remove the turn signal lever and Hazard knob.
There are three screws holding the turn signal switch on, reach under dash and disconnect the electircal connector for the turn signal switch. Slide the switch up just enough to move over shaft.