• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

front alignment question

outlander

NAXJA Forum User
I've heard that around 8-9* of caster is a good alignment number(89,xj, 5.5 r.e lift,dana 30) but are we talking positive or negative caster?(axle tilted forward or backwards)

I know this is a really stupid question...but I'm new to the diy alignment thing.I adjusted my caster today and I still have weak steering wheel return to center and squirlyness at speeds over 30mph.So I still have a caster issue.It also looks like the pass side is sitting farther foward than the driver side,because I have less room between the sway bar end links and the coil on the pass side compared to the driver side...???

Any thoughts on this will be highly valued....thanks

Last edited:
Axle tilted backwards. I think 6 to 7 degress is ideal, but There's no way you're gonna get that much with your RE 5.5" lift without messing up the pinion angle which will get you horrible vibes from the driveshaft. If you're lucky, you'll get about 3 to 4 degrees with the pinion pointed RIGHT at the transfer case yoke. Most point the pinion a degree or two lower to get back the same in caster. Or you can use offset balljoints and get back even more. That's what I'm gonna do.
This is all assuming you have the high pinion d30 which you probably do.

Kyung

yea I have the high pinion.I have always heard that front pinion angle takes precidence over caster,but what happens if your caster is so bad that your vehicle is dangerous like mine.I wouldn't even think of taking it up to freeway speeds right now.....