• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Help! rear drum on d44 shattered to shambles

Mike1331

NAXJA Forum User
I hear a metal on metal slush coming from inside my right rear drum so I just went to take off the drum cover and shambles of metal fall to the ground. I've never done any drum work before so I can't name parts and of course my tools and chilton is @ my house and I'm stuck at my moms. The springs were broken in half and crushed, and a couple other random pieces fell out that looked thrashed. Soo one brake shoe is loosely attatched and the other is dangleing. This is my dd and I have to go to work. Can I drive this without the right rear functioning, and a few pieces missing, will it leak fluid everywear? I've never seen a d44 behind a cherokee @ the pic-n-pull's in sac, rocklin or vacaville but I do remember seing one behind a waggy, can those drums work on my 44?

Last edited:
is the drum itself broken?
it does not sound safe if you've got hardware and a brake shoe just chillin inside there.
its old, one of the springs probably broke and caused all that to happen. get yourself a new set of rear shoes, a spring/hardware kit, and inspect the inside edge of the drum. if its really bad, replace it. if not, get it cut down so its round again.
if you've never done it before, try to tackle the bad side first, but have both rear wheels off so you can look at the good side for refrence (like what spring goes where).

The inside edge of the drum doesn't look so good, it has some pretty deep grooves. If I get this spring/hardware kit I believe there is a special spring loading tool to mount the springs onto the shoes, correct?
Thanks for your help.

Mike1331 said: