• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Dana 44 Brake Questions

jeepster91

NAXJA Forum User
I've swapped a dana 44 for my dana 35 and I'm replacing most of the components of the drum brakes with the exception of the cylinder and related parts. In the process I'm also extending my brake lines, both e-brake and brake hose. The problem I'm running into with the e-brakes is that when I pull the e-brake it is not expanding the new shoes. The arm towards the rear of the brake pulls and releases, but the shoes do not expand. I've never worked on brakes before so this is all new to me....I'm trying to learn as I go. Do you need pressure in the cylinder in order for the e-brake to work correctly? I have not bleed the brakes yet. I thought it was strictly mechanical. Second thing...the only way I can get the drum on is if I have the adjuster screw so loose that it feels as though it would easily slide out. Now if I tighten up the adjuster screw, the drum will not go on. I know it's probably a combination of adjustments, but if any one could give me some suggestions that would be a start.

The e-brake does not depend on the hydraulics at all, but it does depend on proper brake shoe adjustment. If you are having issues with the mechanical brake, then you must have something wrong with the actuator arm itself or the shoes are improperly installed.