• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Newbie... 01 Cherokee Limited

limited

NAXJA Forum User
Hey Fellas,
I'm a newbie to the board and to the seat of my 01 XJ Cherokee limited. Well, I just picked it up a week ago and it really brings a smile to my face....and those heated leather seats bring warmth to my arse :shocked: I'm in sales and will be driving quite a bit. I did so much reviewing and found these inline 6, 4.0L to be bullet proof. Now my questions regarding two things that I'm concerned about that I've recently noticed on this first long trip across my territory.

1.) When hitting some ruts/bumps, I get a chatter/knocking/thumping coming from what sounds like the front right suspension or something. Any idea what that could be? It does not do it at all when on smooth surfaces, but once you hit those ruts/bumps, well...you get the idea.

2.) Just started noticing that if driving for a good clip and then coming up to a stop sign and or traffic light and stop quickly, it's like a delay in the automatic transmission, because all of a sudden it will give a thump into neutral or something. And then sometimes if I don't get THAT initial thump, I'll get it after I take off from the stop. Any ideas what that is? Should I be worried?

2001 Cherokee Limited
80,000 miles
perfect--looks as if it has never been off-road

1) check the front shocks, may have never been replaced. Could be other things, but that's a good, simple place to start.