• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

92 xj HO?

smilesyota

NAXJA Member #1366
I'm new to jeeps (toyota, and suzuki lover) would a 92 xj be considered a HO motor? Also what would the automatic trans be? Is it computer controlled? I can get it for 200$ but it is a no start. any info is helpfull, as I'am trying to get out of my 90 xj 5sp. Thanks

Any of this would have come up in a search, using the right terms.

BUT, being a nice guy, yes, the 1992 has the HO motor
The automatic transmission is the AW4 and it is computer controlled by a TCU

XJHummerRescue said:
Any of this would have come up in a search, using the right terms.

BUT, being a nice guy, yes, the 1992 has the HO motor
The automatic transmission is the AW4 and it is computer controlled by a TCU
At least smilesyota is a member.

Hey, I can only throw money at one thing at a time, and right now its at death wobble. Then next is a bad pulley, then maybe Ill throw some at NAXJA. I would just give it, but throwing the money is so much more satisfying.

Jeep = Junk Heep?
JEEP = Just Empty Every Pocket

Not my '92 XJ Laredo anyway. Yes the '92 does have the HO 4.0 rated at 190hp@4750rpm and 225lbft@3950rpm, and the auto tranny is the stout Aisin-Warner AW4 computer-controlled 4-speed. Ratios are 2.80 (1st), 1.53 (2nd), 1.00 (3rd), 0.75 (4th) with 3.55:1 axle gears.
$200 is ridiculously cheap so expect to spend at least ten times that amount in repairs and upgrades.

Dr. Dyno said:
Jeep = Junk Heep?
JEEP = Just Empty Every Pocket