• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

First Post: A couple newbie questions about XJs...

typ3

NAXJA Forum User
I'm a total 4x4 newbie fresh in from the VW scene and I've decided that I want an XJ. A lot of the VW guys I was talking to have differing opinions as to which XJ setup to get and so on, so I thought I'd put it to the experts...

I want a good compromise between fuel economy and power. I will be doing some light towing (2 dirt bikes, small boat, stuff a Jetta could handle) and lots of back roads, jeep trails and stuff when hunting. I definately won't be doing any heavy rock-crawling in the near future.

So my question is:

-Is the 2.5L decent for off-roading and daily driving?
-Is the fuel economy difference between the 2.5L and the 4.0L when highway driving significant?
-What would towing be like with a 4-banger and larger tires?
-Should I go manual or automatic?
-What's a reasonable price (CDN) for a older Cherokee?

Thanks in advance,

Brandon

If you plan to tow anything and put large tires on rule out the 2.5. I tow a 2500 lbs boat with a stock 4.0 and 5 speed and find the gearing from the factory a bit high

4.0 with an aw4 transmisison is all u need, get a 91 + xj

Agree , forget about the 2.5 , go for the 4.0. I would prefer the auto but the 5 speed would be find although not as common. I am not familier at all with prices in your area , no help there sorry

typ3 said:
-Is the 2.5L decent for off-roading and daily driving?
-Is the fuel economy difference between the 2.5L and the 4.0L when highway driving significant?
-Should I go manual or automatic?
-What's a reasonable price (CDN) for a older Cherokee?