• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Small XJ lift

mbiker72

NAXJA Forum User
Kinda of a noob here so bear with me. I have a bone stock 98 XJ, im looking for a little more aggresive stance. I want to lift about 2 inches, just to give the tires more clearance and make the truck look level. I was thinking about 2 inch coil spacers in the front, and either blocks, or shackles in the rear. im on a budget here. What is suggested. Will I have to lengthen brake lines and will i have to dick around with steering compoents?

mbiker72 said:
im on a budget here.

Took the words right out of my mouth. There is a thing called a budget boost. Very cheap, gives around 2inch lift, and no you won't have to mess with steering components.

At that height you won't really need to upgrade anything to accomodate the lift. If your steering wheel goes off to the side, you can easily adjust your draglink to fix it. Takes about 2 minutes!

thanks, do i want extended shackles or the leaf blocks, ide like to keep the handling on road as safe as possible and ide rather not kill the ride qaulity either

mbiker72 said:
thanks, do i want extended shackles or the leaf blocks, ide like to keep the handling on road as safe as possible and ide rather not kill the ride qaulity either

If you have an option, definitely the shackles. Blocks can cause axle wrap if they're too high. Ride quality won't be changed at all since shackles just add onto your existing parts.

im not too sure about 2" but you maaay have to add pinion wedges under your leafs to correct your driveshaft angle. I could be wrong i dont know how much a 2" lift will effect that. If so, about 10$ for the wedges and its not very hard to put em in.