• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Ball joints...

zfinger

NAXJA Forum User
So this weekend or next I have to do upper and lower ball joints on the passanger side of my 97'. I've never done ball joints before, but I have a friend coming over to help me, and he has. I just bought this http://www1.mscdirect.com/CGI/NNSRIT?PMPXNO=4514817&PMT4NO=5141444 through MSC Direct (my dad works for them), and I bought the fork for prying them out. Any words of wisdom or advise? Do I have all the specific tools I'll need? I have all the basic hand tools BTW. Are they a b*tch to do?

You know how at the end of some projects you look back and say "Damn, I should have just sent it to the garage, that sucked", is this one of those projects?

zfinger said:
You know how at the end of some projects you look back and say "Damn, I should have just sent it to the garage, that sucked", is this one of those projects?

Probably :D

You've got the press kit and it *should* have the right sleeves in it, but there's a possibility that you will need more sleeves of the right size. I used a socket I had, but that's a BIG nono because they can shatter and take out an eye or worse. So make sure you have safety goggles in any case.

You will also want a breaker bar to operate the press at certain points. You will be tugging on it fairly hard, so it is important that your jackstands are well placed.