• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

My God, Whats with the metric crap??

jcnoble

NAXJA Forum User
I am trying to upgrade my tires/wheels to 33" and 15x 8" with 3.75 " backspacing. All the tire dealers have rims listed with backspacing in metric, millimeters i think. The conversion is 2.54 cm per inch. Soo 3.75 inch in cm would be 9.54 cm or 95.4 mm?? The place says -20mm is actually 3.75 inches backspacing. Wow am I confused here, I have an engineering degree and I am stumped. Anyone????

Dumb question - have you recalculated backspacing from the centre of the wheel? I think backspacing is measured from the inner plane of the wheel, typically (but I can't swear to it at the moment!) and some manufactureres may do it differently, with an "offset" rather than true "backspacing." Zero offset would be with the mounting surface on the centreline of the wheel, halfway between the flanged (at 3.5" for a 7" wide wheel.)

Engineering degree? What discipline? I'm getting ready for MET/Automotive Emphasis, once I finish the three AS's I'm working on (Tool & Die Maker, Engine Machining, and Engine Management & Performance.) How do you like your field, and what's your emphasis?

5-90

Im electrical, I guess thats why I am having a hard time. I can calculate what current my fuel pump is drawing but wheel backspacing, hmmm. Still though I dont think this should be difficult to figure out. Also I take exception with your "dumb question" comment. There are no dumb questions just dumb answers. Anyway, thanks for your reply.

Yes, thats what the tire dealer is telling me also, I just dont understand how backspacing is measured I guess, and why metric instead of english units? We all seem to talk english units for backspacing on this forum?