• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Question about water coming out of tailpipe of my XJ

Ghetto2315

NAXJA Forum User
I have a Flowmaster Super 40 muffler on my XJ and I wanted to get an exhaust clip to host as video to show to people. I had my brother sit in the driver seat and step on the accelerator to acomplish the engine revs to get a sound clip of the exhaust. As I was recording and he was "accelerating", and at times hard... water would pour out.

Now the story behind this is that I do not drive my XJ often... I only have 29K miles on her. It sits home in the garage for about a month or 2 before I drive it.

Lately, and I do not know if it has something to do with the cold, but my XJ would have trouble starting. Originally it would crank, and crank but wouldnt turn over unless I floored the gas pedal and kept pressing lightly so it wouldnt stall out. I figured the battery was dead (same stock bettery since I purchased my XJ brand new in 2000) so I bought a Red Top and it starts up well, but not without 4-6 cranks. I am going home on Thursday so hopefully I wont have any problems starting her...

Where is the water coming from? Is the water coming out of my exhaust tips harmful?? Does that have anything to do with my long cranking before starting???

You can click on the link below to see the video of my exhaust clip and you'll see the water "spray out":
http://www.dropshots.com/day.php?userid=55674&currentDate=20051227&currentTime=182400

Let me know what you think guys, Thanks!!

Last edited:
Re: Question about water coming out of the tailpipe of my XJ

it is likely just condensation built up in the exhaust system when it gets hot and cools off water will form inside ans get squirted out when there is alot of flow going through. as for the other issues ?

funvtec said: