• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Front Suspension FAQ

Rick Anderson

NAXJA Forum User
Can anyone point me to an FAQ for the XJ Front Suspension? I've got a lot of Noob Questions. I'm strictly interested in restoring STOCK Suspension to good working order, NO MODS.

Although I'm a very proficient amaeture mechanic, never owning Jeep/Truck before, there are several terms that confuse me. As well, some of the worn part that I'm considering replacing, are different enough from Sedans/Coupes/Mini-Vans that I need some advice on how to approach it.

If your willing to appease me, the following questions.

1. Track Bar - It appears the Ball Joint in the end of the Track Bar is NOT press in/out. Does the entire Track Bar need to be replaced OR is there a way to replace just the Ball Joint. Are the alternatives as effective (longevity and performance) as replacing the entire bar?

2. Center Link - (Term? - The Link between the Pitman arm and one Steering Knuckle, also has the Tie-Rod and Damper attached to it.) It also appears the Ball Joint is NOT press in/out. Are there alternative like the Track Bar?

3. Front Alignment - Toe adjustment is Apparent. What about Camber and Caster? Do you twist the entire axle by adjusting the control arms for Camber? Do you use off center ball joints? OR are the off center ball joints just for crash damage? Do you just bolt it all up and check caster/camber in tolerance?

4. Ball Joint, Steering Knuckle - This is 2WD BTW, even with the 2WD axle, it doesn't look like you can lift the end of it into an arbor press. Do you really need special C-Clamp tool are can you get away with a big Sockets and a big regular C-Clamp?